Image showing need for ocean beach themed bedding

Do You Know Your Dolphins?

Any time someone says the word ‘Dolphin’ it’s hard not to imagine the Bottlenose dolphin smiling back at us. Dolphins have long been known as our intelligent marine friends but did you know that the killer whale is the world’s largest dolphin? Not many people know this but there are over 40 different dolphin species in the ocean today. Want to get to know them better? Here’s a brief glimpse.

Image showing snuggie animal blanket

Bottlenose Dolphin

We’ll start with the most quintessential dolphin species known to man. The Bottlenose stands out because of its short and thick beak. Usually seen in light gray colors, this dolphin can take on darker or even pinker hues. An adult Bottlenose dolphin can grow up to 12 feet in length and are found in most temperate waters of the globe. You’ll easily be able to spot them near US shores.

Humpback Dolphin

These look similar to the Bottlenose except that their beaks are slightly longer and sleeker. They also have a dorsal fin that droops downwards. Most Humpback dolphins are in shades of grey but can also be seen in yellow, pure white and pink shades. You can spot the Humpback along the coasts of the Indian Ocean. 

Spotted Dolphin

As the name suggests, these dolphins have colored spots all over their body. But you’ll only notice the spots when they’re younger. As they mature, the spots become denser and they spread across the flesh. The Spotted dolphin is a fast swimmer and pretty acrobatic even around humans. You can find them most commonly near The Bahamas.

 Image showing ocean beach themed bedding

Pacific White Sided Dolphin

This dolphin has an interesting appearance. Its belly, throat and chin are usually white in color while their beak, dorsal fin and back are dark gray. If you’re sailing through the sea, you might come across the Pacific White-Sided dolphin swimming in groups of over 50 at a time! And because they’re really active and super curious, they’re most definitely going to be giving your vessel several inquisitive bumps.  

Pilot Whale

It’s called a whale but it really is a dolphin. It’s named so because it’s got a whale-like demeanor. There are two main types of Pilot whales; one with the short fins and the other with the long fins. An easy way to recognize them is by their color. Pilot whales are either very dark grey or jet black and are almost 16-feet in length. You can find them in most tropical waters across the globe.

Do You Love Dolphins?

Help us protect ocean animals by purchasing ocean themed shirts, shoes and bags. We’ll take no shipping charges for orders over $100 and will donate 10 percent of the proceeds to ocean conservation groups. Let’s work together and protect our favorite marine mammals!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.